Firmware versions and WIFI connectivity

I have a new machine that I’m just getting started with. I’m really happy not only with the machine but the level of conversation and support around here. When I first got my machine connected to the internet, I clicked the “upgrade to 1.1” message and started carving away. I noticed an issue with setting units to Imperial and when I came here I started to see lots of warnings about 1.1 and that I should go back to 1.09. During the time that I was in 1.1, I seemed to have much better WIFI performance on my network (Google Mesh Wifi).

When I read about the issues and that the recommendation to go back to 1.09 - I followed this guidance and reverted back.

I’m reading about the path of the new 1.2 release, and I totally understand what is going on but one question I have is were there any changes in 1.1 that would make WIF performance better ? I know it made it easier to select wifi network, and made the display prettier, but did it have anything that might explain better connectivity and performance ?

If the answer to that question is Yes, then the follow up is will those changes show up in the 1.2 version ? Or will those changes come in whatever the next release that has all the new goodies that were in 1.1 get re-incorporated into the future version ? I know the 1.2 version was re-baselined against 1.09 with some cherry picked changes, so I assume a future version will have all the other things that caused bugs in 1.1. I’m just trying to figure out if the actual performance if WIFI connectivity is likely to be different between any of the different firmware versions, or are the firmware changes really only changing how you select and connect to WIFI ?

1 Like