Best / Simplest Software for a Journeyman X-50

My wife and I are looking to buy a Journeyman X-50, mostly hobby work. I have just started looking into the software side. I am a 3D CAD designer / Teamcenter Admin by day mostly using Siemens Solid Edge and past experience using AutoCAD and Microstation products. I have written G-codes and used MasterCAM many years ago in school. The 3D modeling side will be no issue for me and I am assuming most of the CAM software will allow for a parasolid file to be imported.

As per my wife she will be using the machine also, see has experience using a Husqvarna Iris Embroidery Sewing machine and a Cricut (paper cutting) machine. Each of these come with simple but easy to use software.

I am looking for the best options for both of us.
VCarve Pro - Sounds good but a little pricy for me to start and I don’t like the VCarve Desktop limiting you to 24"x24".

Fusion 360 - Sounds a little difficult to learn for my wife. Will the free version of Fuion360 allow for a parasolid file to be imported? I am not a fan of AutoCAD as I find it to be one the most difficult CAD software to learn and use but maybe fusion360 is better.

Easel? Import parasolid files?

Others?

1 Like

I used vcarve desktop and fusion360… The 25x25 has not limited me as I have not needed bigger yet. My journeyman gets used so I have real-estate to do multiple cuts using offsets

Not sure about file import

2 Likes

I use Fusion (engineering background with CATIA and SOLIDWORKS) and I have been able to teach my wife with little difficulty. She defers to me for the CAM side of things because it intimidates her a bit, but she has posted code without my help that ran just fine.

4 Likes

Since you are already familiar with Solid Edge, you may be able to stick with that…
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nV0Z8gHH-5Q

1 Like