First time buyer

hello everyone. i am a programmer and operator of cnc in my factory shop. I am wondering if anyone can help me with what I need to purchase from the beginning to run and operate the Masso Forman? bits, suction, accessories ,etc.

Welcome Steve!

What’s your intended use case? What’re you gonna make?

all kinds of wood 3d (signs, guitar, ornaments) i bought the laser tyo go with it as well.

Here are a few of my thoughts, Steve. I’m sure others will have great input as well. This is (of course) specific to my own experience.

1st, I think you’ve got some time to wait given the Foreman lead times. This forum is wealth of knowledge. Search away on any topic you can think of and you’ll find some great info. I highly recommend doing some reading on here, as there are issues specific to the 1F machine design that likely would not show up in a production setting in a factory. That said, the Foreman will have some significant improvements, so many of the things you’ll read about are probably already solved.

Things to read about:

Sorry I don’t have time to provide more specifics, but that’s a good list to start!

3 Likes

Welcome Steve,

Jace has covered a lot of good things. Going to a spindle will be a whole other step in regards to complication and learning curve but the Makita trim router will end up being a limitation that’ll be hard to get around. Maybe not for ornaments (or basic signs) but for guitars and the like especially. Though it would be a pain to start with the little router and then upgrade afterwards (which is what I’m being forced to do), the general learning curve is steeper than you might expect.