Brand new user, opinions?

Good Day,

I’ve decided after a couple of years of thinking about it, to invest in a 1F CNC. Initially I will use it for misc. items for myself, family and friends as well as various jigs and fixtures for my day job (I’m a carpenter by trade) with the ultimate goal being to use it for additional income in the future. I’ve decided while I wait to save some money, or wait for financing to be available for Canada (still think its weird that its not) that I would familiarize myself with both the machine and accessories through research and forums, and get familiar with some trial versions of software seeing as there is a fairly large lead time on the machine I’ve chosen.

To make things easier for me to keep track, and others to help out I’ve broken down what items I’m planning on purchasing, and maybe a couple of points or questions following. So hopefully I can explain things properly and if anyone has any suggestions or opinions I would love to hear them. I apologize in advance for any silly questions.

Equipment

Machine: I’ve decided to go all in on the Elite Forman series 48"x48". My reasoning is I would prefer to over buy initially and be able to grow into the machine as I advance, rather then wanting to upgrade a year or two down the road. I thought that given the cost of these machines, that made more sense. I also like the idea of being able to machine a full half sheet of material, which really opens up the possibilities of what I can do. I’ve done this many times with my carpentry tools, and has worked really well for me.

Stand

I like the idea of the QCW with install from above just for ease of waste board change. I haven’t decided yet if I’m going to go with the stand or just buy the frame and install it on a table. I do like the idea of the stand providing room for a vac and dust separator below since my shop is a little tight, as well as the built in T-track for a variety of clamps.