Machine Lost Zero

Hello, I’m new to CNC and I’ve only had the Onefinity for a short time and have gotten a few successful cuts done but my latest one has started to give me problems. About 6 minutes into my first tool pass the Z axis suddenly moved up and was above the work piece. When I stopped (not emergency stop) and told the machine to return to zero it was off in all axis. So I manually re-zeroed X and Y and used the probe to reset Z, but upon restarting the program the machine went rapid full down in the Z axis driving the tool through the workpiece into the spoil board before I could hit the emergency stop. Not sure what could have caused this. Just wondering if anybody could give me any thoughts on what I’m missing.

Hello … also very new to CNC. I had a similar experience tonight. I was doing test cuts to try different feeds and speeds. I had just done an “air carve” to check the cutting path and everything looked fine. I reset the Z axis zero to the surface of the work piece and started the program. Before I could dive to the eStop, the bit had plunged through the workpiece and about 1/2" into the spoilboard. (The brand new spoilboard that I had just surfaced and cut a grid into !?! ) Ahhh … that’s the world of CNC. Anything I could have done to mess up the probing process on the Z axis ? I reset everything and tried again and this time it went fine. Albeit that I created a lot of chatter with the speed I was trying to cut at. All the stuff I read about chip load and feeds and speeds are pretty aggressive for this size machine. Thanks.