Milling VERY THIN aluminum .025"

I’ll be transparent right away, I’m a total rookie and haven’t even run a job on my Onefinity woodworker yet. I have a potential client asking about needing aluminum “tags” for telephone poles. The sheet aluminum I think I would use is laser-friendly and incredibly thin at only .025" thick, and I planned to use the CNC to cut out the tags and then put them into a template in my laser for engraving.

Can anyone lend insight on what type of bit should be used for such thin Aluminum material and potential feeds/speeds? I was looking at these bits 'O Flute' Spirals - BitsBits.com – For that matter, any advice at all would be greatly appreciated… methods for holding down such a thin work piece, tabs or no tabs? I want to do it safely but in an efficient timeline as well.

Thank you so much -
Christy

Those bits look pretty good, I believe they would do a good job for you. I would stick with a small diameter like 1/16".

As far as hold-down, that could be tricky. I use 2-sided tape extensively, but on that thin of material it would deform it trying to unstick it. I’m thinking a vacuum puck might serve you well, but that’s not really a very inexpensive solution, depending on the volume of tags. Do the tags have holes in them? If so, that could simplify things a bit by making a hold-down plate just slightly smaller than the outer profile of the tags. You’d have to process the holes first, then screw down the hold-down plate & tag onto a fixture plate.

2 Likes

Any reason why you would choose 1/16" over an 1/8" bit? I figured the 1/4" was overkill.

That’s a great point you bring up about potentially bending the material if I used double sided tape. The tags do indeed have 2x 5/16" holes in each tag on either side. That sounds a little bit too laborious to utilize the holes for hold downs but sounds like an interesting idea if nothing else comes to light.