Set up question

Can someone explain the advantages and disadvantages of referencing the Z off the material surface and also off the machine bed? I’m still waiting for my OF but am trying to do my best learning Vetric. Thanks for your help!

1 Like

My approach has been to zero off the wasteboard when I want to cut all the way through the material and to zero off the material surface when I want to v carve or cut pockets into the material that are relative depth to the material top surface. This approach removes issues with variable material thickness from a repeatable process where you will use the same program to make the same part multiple times.

There may be better ways but this works for me.

4 Likes

I appreciate it very much.

I generally reference off the material if I am not cutting all the way through but I prefer to reference off the waste board if the thickness of the wood varies or may be milled away when changing bits.

3 Likes

I’m very new to this but figuring out the software. My question is, if I zero off the wasteboard, and in VCarve Pro set material thickness to.75 for a “3/4” piece of plywood, will the machine know how to start out with clearances above workpiece. IE I want to cut through, utilize tabs, and not cut into wasteboard. My first attempt to cut out a circle for a vent fan in 3/4” plywood for my CNC table resulted in a slight cut into wasteboard. I selected Profile cut, material top w/tabs and a ramp in. When measuring the plywood thickness it varied significantly as I expected. I chose an average of the thickness’s. I guessed lucky as had I put in .75 for a thickness, there would have been a much deeper cut into wasteboard.Am I on the right track? Through cuts, zero off wasteboard, put a close material thickness? Thanks to anyone answering a very basic question but until you get some experience, these aren’t “no brainers”. I’m just trying to be smart with configurations and maximize wasteboard life.