White Oak or hardwoods in general

Hello All,

I am doing my first cut on white oak. My project board is 30" x10" x 1". I am making a serving tray for my daughter in law and she wants it 3/4" deep (large pocket tool path). I have two 1/4" 2 flute bits one is up-cut and the other down-cut. Any recommendations on speeds and feeds and which bit I should use? I have plenty of experience on softer woods and this stuff is dense!
Thanks!
JJ

I would use the upcut bit - you have a lot of chips to clear. Make sure you have dust collection going.

Feed Rate:60.0 in/min
Cut Depth:0.060 in
RPM:18000

Include a toolpath for a finishing cut at 0.01" wide and full depth to remove the step-cut marks on the side walls.

Also, 3/4" deep on a 1" thick board seems like it will leave you with a 1/4" bottom thickness? As a practical matter, that’s pretty thin for a 30" wide utilitarian item expected to take bumps and bruises.

-Mark

1 Like

I think you could be a little more aggressive than that. I typically run pretty fast. The combination of spindle speed, ipm and depth of cut to get a good chip load. Too slow and you’ll burn the work piece out or the bit. Oak on a 1/4 bit I’ll run from 160-200 ipm at 3 on the Makita router (17,000 rpm I think) at about 0.080-.100 depth of cut. I would recommend the upcut bit for this, but think you should consider a compression bit at some point. You may consider a v carve on the initial pass to chamfer the interior edge; this will help with tear out.

2 Likes

Thanks for all the help and the project turned out great! Very heavy duty tray for hors d’oeuvres, and my daughter in law will love it!

If you have a bowl making bit, that would be the best bit to use!
Its larger diameter will take less time to cut and will help reduce the heat generated by the cutting.