How about starting a Bits Thread?

Hi there,

I’m new to CNC and overwhelmed, make that OVERWHELMED by everything related to bits. Also feed, plunge, hell, all the dress neckline rates. Sorry, Dad CNC joke.

I’ve seen a few good videos (Mitz on speeding up via Max Jerk rates, which was good) and also the Cyber Reef Guru on bits.

- YouTube.

Here’s my question. It seems like down bits are the clear winner for cleanest cut…and up down bits as well. But with the up down or compression bit, it seems like you have to get the whole bit in there for it to work as advertised.

That seems really aggressive to me. I need to cut either 1/2 plywood for templates, or my dream would be to cut 1" mahogony for final.

I have no idea how to go about this in a way that won’t take 3 hours per cut. (Okay, some writers embellishment there)

Finally, while I have learned more about the various types of spiral bits, I have no idea what diameter I should be using. My first efforts have been using 1/8th" upcut bits from Amana, but it’s only good for 1/2" depth.

Would a 1/4" bit (I’ve got a Makita, so all shanks are .25") be the best way to go?

It’s it nuts to rout final cuts in mahogany, vs. just cutting plywood templates? This whole CNC experiment started becuase I wasn’t excited at the mediocre quality of my Rockler pattern bit, 1/2" diameter, which tears the hell out of everything, unless I trim the wood to about 1/32nd proud of what I need, which is pretty damn hard with a bandsaw.

Sorry for the FAQ. But I couldn’t really find what I was looking for.

And what do people think of a Bits section on the forum?

Thanks. I really am impressed with the responses I have seen here. Great community.