Cad software that you use, or plan to use

Like the topic says. What software are you using, or planning on using as your CAD, and why?
I am new to all of this and have been playing around with Carbide Create, but have no CNC to try any of the Gcode on. (hurry up December?) Just looking for the right CAD software for me. I am willing to pay some but not the $$$ some software is asking.

Most things I make go to Fusion 360 first for sorting out my thoughts and getting the design right.
From there I plan on handing off to Vcarve because they make tool pathing super easy.
Vcarve is not exactly cheap but it does things easily that is hard in other programs.

1 Like

I personally use Vetric Aspire.

1 Like

I usually go from Illustrator or Blender -> Fusion 360 -> CAM, because i enjoy things being incredibly difficult

1 Like

Is this a free software?

No, Aspire is Vcarve’s big brother and not cheap at all. There are free out there, but they are either hard to figure out or limited.
I feel that Vcarve is right for most people that is affordable, not cheap, just affordable, does what 90% of users need it to do, and if you do need the superpowers of Aspire, there is an upgrade path.

https://www.vectric.com/support/switching-to-vectric?gclid=Cj0KCQjwudb3BRC9ARIsAEa-vUv-xRb0b-cM-iekeP5MC4qcbQKXFJQPhLdDR1gaV-ZjPkk2A285xR4aAjPPEALw_wcB

BTW, no, I don’t work for them, just a happy customer.

I was a Illustrator to Easel guy for the longest time (xCarve Owner) recently I’ve been teaching myself Fusion 360 (with the help of YouTube) and I really like it, the free version for Makers is an incredible thing they offer. Its a bit complex but if I can figure it out I’m sure anyone can.

2 Likes

Check out Carveco maker. They offer a monthly subscription for $15 a month. I haven’t tried them yet because I’m waiting to get my onefinity but my plan is to use their software till I make enough to cover the cost of the machine plus the cost of vcarve pro or aspire.

2 Likes