Carveco or Vectric

I’ve never used any cad/cam software before and I am looking at both carveco maker and Vectric, does anyone use either of theses programs or have any pros or cons for either??

I don’t think you’d go wrong with either. I personally use Vectric, but I have carveco and will be trying it out soon. Carveco is only 15$ a month, so you can try it for a few months and if you don’t like it, buy vectric.

2 Likes

@Jase -

If you are just getting into CNC and CAM, I would recommend starting with Easel, Carbide Create, or something less expensive like CamBam. After that I would recommend getting into Fusion. Once you’ve honed your skills a bit, then investing in Vectric or something similar makes sense. Frankly, there’s only one feature from Vectric I want that I can’t do in Fusion 360 (detailed v carving for inlays), and it’s not a deal breaker for me right now.

In the end, it depends on what you are going to use your CNC for. If you want to do a lot of V carving, then Vectric is the way to go. If you want to cut shapes out and make mostly 2d or 2.5d parts, then there are a number of options with a significantly less pricey entry point.

I have a couple videos on CAD/CAM 101 if you are interested (https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLCVvx3PnAfycJn_ZO_ehbS0luWC8BYV-J). Might be time to start a new series with a more deliberate intent. I’d also recommend you check out Winston Moy - he has a number of intro videos that are really informative.

-Tom

1 Like

Carveco has a 1 year subscription for 90 dollars.
Totally worth it in my humble opinion.

I’ve used Easel and CC for several projects. The thing I like the least with both Easel and CC are the limitations. Especially the tool path limitations you’re forced to use.