Advice from experienced (or learning) software users

I looked through the forum as best I could to find an answer to my question(s) - I am sure the answers are there, but I wasn’t seeing them. I recently ordered an Elite Foreman (arrives August 2023) and have received the link for my 12 month subscription to Carveco Maker. I am new to CNC and design related software and want to get a head start before I receive the unit. When I read through some of the posts there are a considerable amount of recommendations for other CNC software rather than Carveco. My question is whether this is good (user friendly/intuitive) software for a beginner? I see that Carveco has instructional videos for beginners, but if this isn’t great software I would rather invest my time learning something better. I see myself working mainly with hardwoods making signs, other related pieces I can sell, cabinetry components and acrylic templates for woodworking (at this point I’m all over the place). Thoughts?

The answer really depends on what your end use for the software/machine is. I recently bought a machine and it came with Carveco. I’m a very experienced VCarve user, but since it was free I figured I’d give it a go.

It’s more than useable. There was a bit of a learning curve moving to the new program but it will do almost anything you’ll need it to do for hobby use. I do prefer VCarve better, and will likely move back once my free year is up, but save yourself some money for now and run with it.

Edit: Quick edit just to say I feel like going from Carveco to VCarve will be more of a natural step if you decide to change programs down the road. But for the use cases you listed Carveco will do everything you need.

1 Like

Carveco is good software. I paid for a year of Maker+ after trying out a couple of the free options out there (Easel and Carbide create). Unless you want to get in other CAD software for some feature or past experience with them, I wouldn’t switch.