Going to order Woodworker X-50

My question to you all is if I order this, do I also need to order the software that goes along with it or does the software come with it? I’ve heard a lot of good things about the V Carve Pro and how easy it is. I’m completely new to this as in the past, I have paid someone to do my work.

The software that operates the OF is included - it’s installed on the controller. That’s what allows you to load and run GCode files.

Design software is different. That ranges from free to very expensive ($1000+). You can use any design software you want but you need to have a toolpathing & GCode generation option as well. In a lot of CNC work design and toolpathing are separate programs. But most people here are using a design program that includes toolpath definition & GCode generation.

VCarve & VCarve Pro, Carveco Maker, etc do both design & GCode generation. VCarve (& Pro) is the big dog here due to it’s long history in the space. Their Aspire version is very useful if you do 3D carving design (the tools for 3D carving are in VCarve but the design of 3D carving objects are an Aspire feature). The good thing about VCarve’s different versions is you can upgrade to more capable versions for just the difference in price. The license is perpetual with free upgrades the first year.

VCarve Desktop’s biggest limitation vs Pro is the size of your project - it’s 24x24". You can get around this by using the included tiling functionality. VCarve Pro eliminates this constraint. There are an enormous amount of resources on the internet for learning & using VCarve in all of its flavors. There’s also a ton of training and downloadable and for-purchase projects available from Vectric as well.

There are many Carveco, etc users here too so you won’t have issues finding someone here who can help if you go with those software applications but I believe VCarve is the dominant application being used here.