Can’t save toolpath with Vcarve?

Trying to make my first cut ever using V carve… just a simple text of my name. When I select the journeyman X-50 as my post processor it gives me a message in red saying:

“The trial version of the software can only save toolpaths for data from the supplied tutorial files. Please load and unmodified tutorial file to test machine output“

I am on the Vcarve Pro trial edition. Does this mean I have to buy the full version to be able to “print“ anything?

Is everyone paying $700 for Vcarve pro? Wow.

Vcarve desktop is another option that I use, and it’s around $350. I factored this cost into my overall budget. I’m still getting started a little bit but looking to upgrade my software when possible. If you use the desktop version, you will need to tile anything over 25"x25". It sounds intimidating to tile and have separate files for the same piece, but it’s very simple once you understand it. I’m unsure if you NEED the paid version to make g-code files but, on the bright side, it’s a one-time payment.

1 Like

On another bright side, Vectric gives you full credit for applying the purchase price of Desktop to Pro when/if you want to upgrade. So - go with the cheapest VCarve option and trade up. It’s much less painful that way :slight_smile:

2 Likes

The trial version is intended to allow you to learn how to use the software not to test out the mechanics of the CNC you’re hooking to. That’s why you can only cut their test files.

You can try one of the free apps (Carbide Create, Easel) to start to get to used to using the CNC itself and then decide if the software design capabilities available in VCarve are worth spending the money on vs. one of the free or cheaper paid software packages out there.

2 Likes

Hey Brian,