Cutting height of our bits

I’m still a little puzzled by large bits being offered in multiple cutting heights.

Today I’m looking at purchasing an S=6mm, D=6mm, Z=1 bit to cut plastic. Amana offers these in 7 different cutting heights (from 8mm to 38mm).

For small diameters, minimising the cutting height reduces the risk of breakage and vibration. But with a relatively large bit, I don’t see that cutting height would matter that much so I buy the 38mm.

I assume that they offer the smaller heights for repetitive jobs. A professional shop, buying a lots of bits, may save a little with smaller cutting heights. On the contrary, as a hobbyist, I assume that the more versatile bit (highest cutting height) is cheaper since I only need to buy one.

What do our more experienced CNC operators think? Am I missing something?

Unfortunately, the longer the bit the more you are going to introduce a degree of deflection into your workpiece which in turn then translates into the spindle causing premature wear of bearings, collets etc.

I think most would recommend that you choose something with a length that is going to adequately cover a reasonable range of thicknesses (e.g. 1/2" 3/4", 1.0") that you would normally cut in your average day-to-day carvings.

In the industrial CNC world you generally try to have the absolute minimum of stickout for the reasons Dave shared and that deflection causes inaccuracies in your part. These deflection inaccuracies are in the .01mm range so that may not be a problem for woodwork, but the machine wear is definitely something to keep in mind.

Thanks but that’s part of what confuses me. If it has an impact on the length of the bit, I understand. But here I’m talking specifically about the cutting height.

In this example with the plastic bit, admittedly the 8mm cutting height is significantly smaller than the other bits. But the 6 others have pretty much the same length…