Profile cutting

How do I cut the profile on a 1 3/4” thick guitar body? What bits do I need? Thank you, Total Newbie.

Hey Mark,

you might be interested in this.

See also

Example roughing bit and radius (ball) nose bit

1 Like

I use a 1/2" Compression bit, works real good for me.
Pat

1 Like

Thanks for the response, Pat. Is that 1/2” long compression bit or perhaps one with a 1/2” shank? I’ve never understood how my 1/4” Makita could use a bit with a 1/2” shank.

Mark

Thanks for sending the links, always good to see how others approach a project.
Mark

Sorry, I thought you had a spindle, yes it is a 1/2" shank bit, although I don’t see why a 1/4" bit wouldn’t work even with the extra long length of cut using conservative speeds and feeds as well as shallow depth of cuts
Pat

Pat,

Thanks for clearing that up, I’ve wondered how to use 1/2" shank bits for CNC–guess you need a spindle router. I will be cutting 1 3/4" hardwood; how long should the up cut/down cut/compression bit be? I’ve seen a bit at Bits and Bits that had a cutting length of 2". Would that be surdy enough to do the trick considering it has a 1/4" shank?

Thanks again.
Mark

Hey Mark,

milling bits are being deflected by the load. Therefore it is a rule to always use the bit with the shortest cutting part possible (and the shortest shank required also). A long bit for deep pockets is sometimes required, but should not be used as general purpose bit. People who have done this have reported problems with inaccuracies.

1 Like

Mark,
You can ask a dozen people for feeds and speeds and get a dozen different answers, if I was cutting what you are cutting I would use an up cut bit, 2 flute, about 50 IPM at 18,000 RPM with a depth of cut of .125 or so per pass, being you are using a 1/4" bit I would not recommend a compression bit in order to aid in chip removal, pretty deep for a 1/4" bit.