First Project: Have Onefinity cut out its own dovetail track wasteboard

I’m fairly new to CAM, and have been learning the CAM side of fusion as I wait for my machine. (should be in the next couple of weeks!). I designed a wasteboard that should be able to be cut out using the Onefinity itself, out of 3/4" MDF. Using a 32" square piece of stock, the machine will cut out a 31" square wasteboard. That’s about the biggest I could get while keeping all the tool paths within the cutting area. It can be resurfaced, and easily remade if needed. It features dovetail slots for clamping microjig-style. I also designed sets of toe clamps and oops-type clamps that can be 3D printed to work with the dovetail sliders. It also has holes for 1/4" dowel pegs to use for squaring stock to the machine.

There are 5 operations to the CAM using 4 different tools:
1). 2D contour (with finishing pass) to cut the outline of the 31" board. [.25 flat Endmill]
2). 2D pocketing to clear material from the slots. [.25 flat Endmill]
3). Boring operation for the dowel holes [.125 flat Endmill]
4). Facing operation to surface board. [1" surfacing bit]
5). 2D contour to finish slots. [.5" 10deg dovetail bit]

I learned a ton programming this. A challenge was making sure the tool paths and lead-ins wouldn’t crash the dovetail bit into the stock. Feeds and speeds are guesstimated for now, and we’ll see how many tries it takes to get them right. OBJ file is in thingiverse, and I can email the fusion f3D file if anyone wants to use it (not sure if I can upload it to this forum). When the machine arrives, I’ll try to make a video if it works.

Spoilboard: 31" spoil board with dovetail clamping slots by muddyfeet - Thingiverse
Toe Clamps: Toe Clamp for CNC by muddyfeet - Thingiverse
Uh-Oh Clamps: Sliding Adjustable "oops" clamps for CNC by muddyfeet - Thingiverse

16 Likes