FreeCad Tips and Recommendations

I recently learned the basics of FreeCad and have been using it to design things for my 3D printer. I thought that Fusion 360 would be a better choice for the 1F based on the tool paths. After getting very frustrated trying to design in Fusion, I’ve decided to at least get started with FreeCad tool paths. I’ll continue learning Fusion but the 1F table is done and I want to make some wood chips NOW!!
Anyone using FreeCad who can give me some tips and recommendations on setup and warnings about “gotchas”?

Hi Jeff,
I downloaded FreeCad and have spent a few hours playing with it. I’m waiting on the delivery of my CNC so I have no practical experience to share. I’m okay with the design aspects of FreeCad but completely in the dark about the post processor. I know that FreeCad is open architecture and you can literally write your own post processor but I don’t want to do that and assume that you don’t either. That said, it DOES export G-Code and the BuildBotics controller is supposedly able to handle G-Code but there are nuances that until I can test, will remain a mystery. It would be WONDERFUL if FreeCad just plain worked, start to finish, but that’s probably a pipe dream. I suppose one could just run the STL into VCarve and use their post processor. I would rather not have my computer cluttered with a bunch of confusing ‘stuff’ and I want to keep the learning curve(s) under control. You’re the only other person I’ve seen out here that has shown interest in FreeCad. My goal with the product is to use it in my shop for guitar making. In particular, I want it to carve neck shapes.

I use F360 and, more recently, VCarve (I believe it is easier for 3d model carving footpaths). I’ve had a go at freecad quite a few times.

I believe F360 has more functionality than freecad, but I have not done a side by side comparison.