Homing repeatability

I’ve noticed that homing is not perfectly accurate. I can home, zero the machine work coordinates, cut, then re-home, and cut the same thing and it will be in a slightly different location.

In one case, I was cutting dog holes with a roughing pass and a finishing pass. The holes that I cut the finishing pass after re-homing were slightly loose. Too lose for use in registering workpieces.

Is this common or is this a defect? Is there a more accurate way to produce consistent homing results?

Adam

I only zero Z between roughing and finishing passes. I don’t think you can rely on consistent homing.

Sounds like a product of the infrared sensors. Proximity would have been more accurate imo.

A beam of light being interrupted is not as accurate as distance from a piece of metal

My experience with homing precision:

1 Like

This is about what I’ve seen. It’s a bummer, but something I can work around.

Hey Adam,

I have no experience with photoelectric homing sensors as used on Elite Series. I propagate retrofitting inductive proximity sensors on the Original Series since the stock machines only have stall homing. The excellent accuracy and repeatability of inductive proximity sensors is known (one example are these ones) and was also confirmed here.

But, in practice, why would you re-home during machine uptime? Homing is only necessary once after startup.

What you would do is re-zero workpiece coordinates. That should always have a good repeatability. But you would only need to re-zero workpiece coordinates (with a touch probe or plate) if you moved your workpiece or fixed a new one.