How to Export from Carveco Maker to my OF Woodworker machine?

Hey there, I’m new to this and trying to get underway. I got Carveco Maker and have done many tutorials online and on YouTube on using the software. #JamesDeanDesings is excellent and all.

But I am confused about the most important part. Once I’ve completed everything (design and tool paths), what do I do next?

Do I have to export this to UGS and then save that to a specific file for my OF woodworker to read, or is there a better way to do this?

I welcome any direction, instruction, or resources anyone can share to point me in the right direction.

I keep hearing and seeing: .art .svg and .ngv
And quite frankly, I’m getting more frustrated and lost than when I started.

Any help would be great. Thanks!

Welcome to the forum Emanuel! Once you create your toolpath in Carveco Maker, you click on Save Toolpaths and you will have a box appear on your screen. If you are using more than 1 tool, save different tools to separate files. I save my toolpaths on a usb flash drive. You have the option to search for a location to save in this open box. Also check in the machine file format at the bottom of this open box for Onefinity *ngc inch or mm, your choice.
When you create a model and save it, then it is .art.
Hope this helps!

Cheers,

Neil

2 Likes

Hi Neil.
Thanks for the info. What you’ve just shared has made everything much clearer and concise. You should be the one posting all these tutorials. :wink:

One more question: when you say save each tool separately, does that mean I have to finish the tool path, then home and zero everything out all over again before I load and play the second tool?

Thanks for your help. I really appreciate it.

Hi Emanuel,