Makita router alternatives?

Greetings Forum:

I’m a newbie when it comes to CNC and looking forward to getting my new OneFinity CNC that will be delivered sometime later this month. To prepare for this I am in the process of assembling the extras I need such as a set of starter bits and a router - in addition to building a suitable worktable. Since I’m a newbie I definitely want to start with the Makita router as opposed to a spindle. To that end I went on Amazon and searched for the Makita RT0701C router and to my surprise could not find it (I wanted to order through Amazon because I get a 5% discount if paid with my Discover card). A google search for the router did turn up a few Amazon links, but when clicked all yielded a “sorry we could not find that page” message. I then went to the Tool Nut’s web site and here the item was out of stock. I’m wondering now if this item is being discontinued.

Anyway, Home Depot does show this router in stock at several stores in my area, so that’s probably where I’ll buy it. But it did make me wonder if there are alternatives to the Makita router that will also fit the OneFinity’s 65mm spindle mount. Does anyone know other brands of routers that will work with this mount? And is Makita still the best choice in terms of the limited selection that might be available?

1 Like

I got mine here (reconditioned) and it’s perfect, and was a great price.

https://toolsteal.com/products/makita-rt0701c-1-1-4-hp-compact-router-reconditioned?_pos=12&_sid=833daf5e8&_ss=r

1 Like

Thanks for the info. That’s a great price.

I found the same thing but I finally found them at Home Depot. You should be able to order one through their web page.