New CNC user MAC

Hello all. I am the lucky recipient of #147 that is scheduled for delivery today!! I have my table completed, vac purchased, and ready to learn. I work with cad software manufacturing crowns, bridges, smiles, etc in my day job as a dentist. Please don’t hate on me! Ha! But what I do is very user friendly. I have zero experience using gcode programs and I do own a Mac book pro. I have downloaded Carbide Create pro but have yet to use it. Is this my best option and will it be a good option going forward?
I also want to find files to use for flattening my wasteboard and creating a grid.
I am really thankful for any advice and appreciative of your patience with me. I have attached a pic of my table.
Thanks again!!

1 Like

Hi Christian - welcome to the forums. “best” is a loaded question. That’s like saying which is best - a onlay or a crown. It depends :wink:

To start out - simple is better (IME). Carbide Create and Easel take a lot of the details out of setting up a carve and getting started. Neither are great CAD tools (IMHO), but make CAM much more simple. So, starting out fresh without experience, Carbide is a great tool as is Easel.

When I started, the easier to use programs weren’t available, so I was thrown into the deep end and left to figure out what conventional vs climb milling was, chip load, depth of cut, step over, etc., etc… The good news you can now produce amazing projects without knowing any of that. But eventually you should probably invest some time learning the technical details, as it will help you push the boundaries and make your projects even better.

I’ve invested a lot time learning Fusion 360 and that is my go-to for CAD and CAM (I am also on a Mac). Occasionally I use other things like CamBam or Easel, but only by exception.

There are other threads about Mac CAD/CAM software so I won’t go into that here. But, you have a community here to rely on and that’s all that matters :slight_smile:

-Tom

2 Likes