New to CNC-Looking for help

Hello

I am new to CNC and have a few questions.

1. Should I do it? (It looks confusing, but I really want to learn)
  2. What is the most user friendly design software for beginners (that will work with the Onefinity unit)? I currently make round cribbage boards, and drilling 120+ holes by hand is more than boring and tiresome. A few people have said I should get a CNC and let it do the work.
  3. Are there any on line courses/classes a person can take?

thanks in advance

1 Like

Hello @Jgolden4455 - welcome to the forums.

1 - that’s really a question only you can answer. If you want to automate your process, have the capital to do so (=$$), and time to spend to learn, seems like a good investment to me. The machine can batch out boards for you while you do something more productive.

2 - I’d say this is a matter of preference. For total ease of use, Easel or Carbide Create will get you going with little fuss. You will, however, outgrow their abilities over time. But you don’t need to understand climb vs conventional milling, step over, and a host of other technical things to get started. The default settings will work for just about any hobbyist-grade machine.

3 - Plenty of stuff on the Internet. Take your pic:

Intro to CNC
Intro to CAM
Fusion 360 101
Intro to Fusion 360
Fusion 360 Intro
CNC 101

-Tom

3 Likes

Thank you Really appreciate the feedback.

If you really mean the last then yes you should.
The learning curve is a hard bump at the front leveling off to a comfortable incline.

Opinions will always vary but for that use case I say Vcarve all the way.

YouTube has more than you can digest.

2 Likes

Here is a video cutting holes in plywood with .25 inch end mill at 150 ipm, 75 ipm plunge.

VIDEO-cutting holes in ply .375 dia with .25 inch end mill at 75 ipm plunge rate

2 Likes

Making Joker Boards… are we?!? LOL look great

1 Like