Newbe software learning curve

I am a total newbe to CNC and I ordered a Onefinity today. Can I get the software to practice with while I wait 3 months for delivery?

1 Like

There is demo software for download on the Buildbotics site. When I asked OF they said it would be very similar to their version, and would provide good insight and practice.

That software is called camotics.

Easel is free and easy to learn. Is web-based so you can open it and use it anywhere with an internet connection.

Hi Erik - start by getting familiar with the workflow. You generally design your product in some sort of CAD software, then develop the machining (i.e., tool paths) in a CAM software, and export the tool paths as gcode using a post processor (PP). Then send your gcode to the machine using a controller. The OF has an integrated controller, so you don’t need a separate computer. I have a video series that might be helpful.

Camotics is a CAM simulation SW that lets you validate your tool paths by visualizing your gcode.

Easel is a combination of light weight CAD/CAM and controller SW. You can do some very basic designing, build your tool paths, and generate gcode (and send it to the X-Carve but not the OF).

Other SW packages include CamBam, Vectric V-Carve/Aspire, Fusion 360, Carveco. All have varying levels of complexity, cost, and learning curves.

Hope this helps.

-Tom

1 Like