New to CNC what steps are needed to cut

Ok I have never used a CNC or laser
Mechine and have a onefinity Woodworker with lazer comming the last week of Dec. I’ve read almost ever post on this forum and still very confused as to , from start to finish . Can or would any one tell me, what steps are needed in order to make something on the CNC with router and Lazer. From reading the post it seems to me as if I’ll need software to design something and turn it into A Svg file, then diffrent software to turn that into a g code, and input the g code into the CAM software on the Onefinity mechine in order to cut something out??

I am also new to the CNC world - will be purchasing a OF soon. I do feel that the questions you are asking will require more time and room than posts here will provide.

I have started to learn Fusion 360 to help me design and print my 3D prototypes, and have found all the background and specific help needed from Internet sources. I have just now started to do the same for the CNC process. There is a wealth of information, again from the very general, to more specific. Once you start such a search, and start getting some background, you will become better at refining your questions and then have a better idea of what information you need and how to find it.

One simple video I liked, and I think I saw it posted here, was https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iqnvzxuXFTQ. It is related to Fusion 360 but gives a nice overview of what is involved. From what I learned you will need to look at CAD (computer assisted drawing) software to design the part, then CAM (computer aided machining) software to tell the CNC what to do, then and understanding of feeds and speeds for the type of part and process you want. These would be good keywords to get your Internet search started.

This forum has been a wealth of information and support from many much more experienced than I, so I am sure others will provide more helpful information and suggestions.

1 Like