Personal Thoughts

Now that I have had my OF for nearly 3 months now, I thought I would share a few thoughts I have about the machine.

First, I am not a professional CNC’er. I am absolutely hobbyist level and self-taught (well, mostly YouTube taught). This is not my first machine though, as I previously owned a ShapeOko3 XXL.

The machine itself is freaking fantastic. It is rigid in every dimension, and the lack of a tray means there is no sag towards the center of the work area. The accuracy is spot on, and I have even successfully re-carved a 3-dimensional model after removing and repositioning the stock. I re-zeroed it, and it was spot on identical to the first carve.

That being said, I really think abandoning the RPI controller should be considered. It simply is not mature and robust enough to deserve to drive a machine of this caliber. Laptops and desktops are cheap enough to get one more than good enough to serve as a dedicated driver.

The touch screen monitor is “neat”, but it really does not contribute anything to the workflow process. The Pi is underpowered to be an effective web server, and the wireless capabilities are seriously underpowered and useless. At this moment, I am unable for some reason to connect to my machine, even after a restart of the controller.

Not being able to connect to Dropbox or OneDrive is a real limitation. Fussing with trying to insert a USB stick into the rats nest on the back of the controller is not a plus in my mind.

I really, really, really like that my dust collection turns on and off with my router, and that the router turns on and off with the job. I don’t have to be right there when it finishes to turn it off.

I cannot say enough good about the machine. It is solid and accurate. The controller, however, desperately needs rethinking.

Just my $0.02.

(Edited for clarity)

19 Likes