Change to open source firmware

I want to change the firmware on the onefinity to the open source buildbotics software. There are many things on the open source project that I want that aren’t in the official version. I’m also a software developer and would like to add my own features for my own custom things.

I’m wondering if the firmwares in this forum can be installed on the onefinity controller that I purchased from onefinity? I wasn’t clear if the firmwares here are for people who bought a controller from outside or would also work for the official controller purchased from onefinity.

1 Like

I’ve seen this asked a few times and the answer is no you can not due to hardware differences between the two controllers and it may/will brick the controller if you try it. The code repo for the Onefinity controller isn’t a fork from BB and seems to be somewhat inaccurate/incomplete (I was never able to get it to build and install). It is kind of a bummer as there are code fixes and improvements on the BB code that would add significant functionality to the Onefinity controller. I had at one point considered buying a BB controller as a drop in replacement directly from them but ultimately went the route of LinuxCNC then Masso G3 which required more effort to convert - limit switches, stepper motor drivers.

1 Like

Hey Derek, Neel @justneel,

but what would be the reason that it did not work? If you look at the schematics, you can find the only very few differences (buildbotics/bbctrl-pcb vs. onefinitycnc-pcb). Of course the Onefinity Controller is a software and a hardware fork of the Buildbotics.com Controller. Both firmware and schematics, and the pcb too, you can clearly see where it comes from and find the differences. Obviously firmware it is based on Buildbotics 0.4.14.

Did you use the