Recommendations for Newbie

Hi folks…

Just ordered the CNC and now need to get up to speed with a CAD app… I’m a Mac User, I don’t want to cheap it out but it would be nice to start with something under or around $500 that will allow me to upgrade as my skill progresses and leverage what I have learned…

(Point of reference: I’m retired. Was a 30+ year enterprise software and database engineer (Java, C++, Delphi… Interbase, Oracle…etc…). Not much CAD or design software (some Generic CAD, Gimp…etc) so I’m really a Newbie in that software space. ).

If there is a thread that covers this already (I would assume there is, but I did not find it yet) A point in the right direction would be appreciated…

Thanks so much and looking forward to the adventure….

John…

Fusion 360 is free for personal use. It will do anything you will need to do. It also has the CAM side (toolpaths, gcode). There is alot of youtube video tutorials on both CAD and CAM side. I started using fusion 360 for my 3d printer so it was just natural to do the CAM side with Fusion 360 as well. I am still very new to the CAM side and I am still fumbling around as I just got my machine last week.

Thanks… appreciate the info and will look into Fusion.

I will second the recommendation for Fusion 360. The personal edition (free) is already very capable and the commercial version fits in your budget. It covers both CAD and CAM in an integrated solution. It runs natively on macOS.

However you might want to start with Carbide Create (free version), which also has a native mac version. It is very limited (2D paths only) but it may be more approachable for the first operations such as surfacing your wasteboard, learning about cutting speed, etc.