Software for cavities

Onefinity,

I have a 6 drawer chest of antique tools (c. 1875) for which I want to make custom inlay recesses for each tool. The 15.5" x 15.5" drawer bottoms would be made of 3/4” mahogany to match its accompanying lathe (which has a 4” thick mahogany frame).

The average volume of each tool is 6”x 2” x 1”, with assorted irregular shapes, probably 8 or so tools to the drawer. How do I make the cavities? Does the V-Carve Pro have the ability to “read” the bottom nearly 3/4 inches of the tools or would I have to make an epoxy/polyurethane half mold for the software to work with? Or, is there some other method to make the cavities? You would think this would be a familiar task for the V-Carve Pro.

Dick Miller

Yes V-Carve Pro can do this it is call a pocket. Mark Lindsay CNC has some incredible tutorials for V-Carve Pro here is one for the pockets Project Design and Pocket Toolpath - Part 3 - Vectric For Absolute Beginners

Whoa, there, not so fast. Sure, pockets are easy but consider my situation: I can’t use clip art because these are many unique shapes. I could possibly use PhotoCarve, but these tools are a monochrome brass color - no lines or contrast in the photo I would take plus a reflection problem. Any other suggestions, or am I off the mark?

Hi Richard I do not use VCarve, im a Solidworks user. What ive done in the past for this sort of thing is to take a photo of layout directly overhead. Put a ruler along the X axis and a ruler along the Y axis in the photo. Import this to your software and scale that image until it matches the marks on your ruler.

From there trace the outline of the tool, add offset if needed or finger holes. Do a sample run on MDF to test your fit.