Software that will handle CNC and laser

Hello all. I am new to CNC and Laser and have never used one and have a few questions. I have been learning Fusion 360 to do wood working plans, but still don’t know a lot about it. Will the free Fusion 360 be able to handle everything I need to do for CNC and Laser?
It looks like Vectric has a laser module add-on for their Vcarve Desktop and Pro version for $50. From tutorials it looks like Vcarve makes everything easier once you have a design ready. Would using Vcarve save a lot of time compared to trying to use Fusion 360 only. I was considering purchasing the Vcarve desktop version with the 15% off, but the 24x24 limitation is holding me back. I see that “tiling” can be done, but how precise is that? I would be willing to get the desktop version if it will save me a lot of time for the process.
For those that use Vcarve, how often do you pay for the upgrade? I know that may depend on features, but could i buy it and keep it for a few years with out the need to upgrade?

Welcome, we’ll do the best we can.

Potentially, yes.

This is my take. I tend to design in Fusion360 and do final cleanup and toolpathing in Vcarve Pro.
Personally I’d skip the desktop version and go pro mostly to get everything you can out of the machine.
As to tiling, it is mostly up to you how accurate this is. Plenty accurate enough for furniture and such if you take care but will typically show in a complex carving.

1 Like

Vcarve Pro is an investment, I made mine about a year ago with no regrets. I tried a few other software packages especially when I started. They work well, but have some limits when you move into more complex projects. While I cannot say mine are complex just yet, I would not trade Vcarve Pro at this point. Very pleased AND I am not endorsed nor have been contacted by Vectric. :slight_smile:

2 Likes