Tramming for the first time

Hello 1F family,

I am brand new to CNC, only about 1-2 weeks of ownership experience and 1 completed project under my belt, I own a Journeyman and need some help.

I was recently instructed to “tram” my machine, after a lengthy google search I now understand WHAT the tramming is and what it affects, The issue is that I cannot find a very good video covering the topic. I went on the 1F you tube and didnt see anything, while eaiting for a response on here I will go back and recheck.

any help is appreciated

I found this video and a few others by running a google search for “Tramming Onefinity”

Mike

2 Likes

Thank you. I found this also after I posted the question….

If you still have questions, send me a note in Messenger. Can always give you a call to help

Thank you very much for that offer…I’ll probably take you up on it

Have you surfaces your spoilboard yet? If so how smooth did it come out? I still haven’t trammed my 1F after almost 2 years because it’s not very far off. I use a 2 3/8" diameter surfacing bit and there’s a ridge of maybe 1 or 2 thousands of an inch due to the spindle not being perfect. It hasn’t caused me any issues. But I only work with wood.

My advice for new people is get some seat time and enjoy the machine. Down the road when you have a much better feel for what matters to you then do things like upgrades and tramming. It’ll make a lot more sense.

2 Likes

Good morning,

I do not do my spoiled board yet, and that’s actually half true because I did the first one and while learning I annihilated the poor thing so I decided to replace a soil board now that I have an understanding of how my 1F works with a spoil board file

So I replaced my spoil board and have decided against resurfacing initially because I want to see how far, if any, a tramming or router is off.