Two 0 points to define stock plane and orientation

I am brand new to this, so it is probably both stupid and also posted in the wrong place. I am happy to be corrected!

Is there a reason we can’t define two X,Y,Z 0 points in order to inform the machine the location, thickness, and orientation of the stock (three would even allow for size assuming it is a rectangle). It seems to me this would solve many registration issues for tiling and two sided cuts, would avoid issues of imperfections with the waste board, and would conserve on materials and time.

I’m sure there are very good reasons, but I’m a newb and based on why learning curve thought I would at least throw it out there.

I’m not 100% sure I understand everything you are asking, but here is my best interpretation.

In general, CNC machines do not think. They are tools to reliably and repeatably execute specific instructions (gcode) written by your CAM software, for your specific machine — using a machine-specific post processor. It sounds like you want the machine to “remix” (for lack of a better word) already processed gcode to a new coordinate system, one which may differ from the actual machine orientation. This is simply not possible at this time. Any material positions or properties should be defined in CAM, prior to creating the gcode.

Fences and bench dogs are well-established ways of quickly and consistently placing material, and can make two-sided milling quite easy. Other, perhaps more advanced, methods include using dowels or pins.

Zeroing from the spoilboard surface instead of the material surface can help to increase the longevity of your spoilboard, though I’m not sure this was the actual meaning of your statement.

1 Like