VCarve Intersections

I’m new to CNC routers and have a 1F due hopefully in January, although i have experience with CNC plasma cutting. Using VCarve i have imported an AutoCAD drawing of a club badge i would like to make. However, when i import it and try to run the toolpath i keep getting a message saying “The selected vectors may contain overlaps or intersections” it gives me the option to go to the vector validator and shows me that i have 29 intersections (was at 100+ when i started).

I have redrawn most of the badge drawing in Autocad,but I’m unable to find a way of removing these last intersections, any advice out there on how to do that, as having spent 3-4 hours re-drawing and testing in VCarve is becoming very frustrating.

Did you try the join vectors command or the select all duplicate vectors? Those are under the edit tab, between file and model. I’m guessing its something very very small. You could also check for a layer that is hidden in autocad but comes along if you save as a dxf. Good Luck.

I would suggest you watch the Mark Lindsay CNC for beginners on YouTube. He talks about The Vector Validator and how to resolve the issues.

You might also want to just disregard the error message when setting up the tool path and see what is missing. If that doesn’t work you will have to learn node editing…

Dave

1 Like

I just started to learn VCarve too. There are multiple videos by Mark Lindsay on YouTube on this topic that helped me.

Here is one that maybe helpful: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7EJriSpsvE4&t=37s

Just looking at the pictures, it looks like you have selected “V Carving Mode” in the Vector Validator. This will show the intersect and overlapping because of the multiple “open vectors” you have in your drawing. VCarving Mode will flag those as those are not closed vectors. V Carve will only carve closed vectors. For open vectors you will have to use the “Profile” toolpath.