What is the point/How Important is that circle in the Touch Probe?

So I am new to the CNC world. I Just got my machine, and I figured I’d get intimate with it, by milling up my own Touch Probe. But I have a few questions.

1. How important is that circle on the touch probe? Whats its purpose, I just don’t get that part. I mean I understand that you want to center the bit on the circle, just don’t get why. Im guessing its to make it stupid proof or something?

2. Does the thickness matter? As I understand it the Probe works on a macro, so you just connect the wires, press the button and it knows that the probe is a specific thickness. Well Can I reprogram that macro based on my own dimensions, or do I need to actually copy pasta the OF probe.

3. This part is more so geeky. I understand that its essentially the closing of the circuit that makes the controller understand that the probe is at the desired position for zeroing. How does the controller know this? Is 1 pin a small voltage? Is it running a continuity test? This really serves no purpose other then to feed my urge to understand things lol.

1. The circle is the the optimum point to get to both X and Y touch off points after zeroing Z. If the bit is say in the center of the probe plate the bit would crash into it after completing the Z probe step.

2. The 1F probe thickness is pre-programmed into the 1F axis probe macro. It is possible to adjust those parameters in the controller (based on your specific probe’s actual dimensions). You can find that procedure discussed elsewhere on the forum.

3. Yes, by nature the system uses a small voltage to establish continuity.

The probe is not rocket science but 1F’s probe is well designed and very accurate. I feel that it helps reduce some of the guess work when troubleshooting operational problems.

Hopefully others can provide more accurate detail if any of this in error.

2 Likes

Phil,

You are spot on with all of your answers…