Would you buy this Spindle kit?

Hey guys!

Im in the process of replacing a bunch of machines after my workshop flooded about 3 weeks ago.

I have no experience with spindles, but I would like to upgrade the Makita router I have on my Journeyman x-50. Im hoping those of you with experience could shed some light on a few things please?

1. Water-cooled seems to be the way to go if you are working with both timber and metal (aluminium) to avoid getting metal shavings inside the spindle as well as dust potentially being blown around by the fan on an air-cooled spindle.

2. I was considering the PwnCNC 1.5kw kit, but with shipping to Australia + import duties you are looking at min $1477USD. This kit is nice for the fact that it is ready to go, no additional soldering or anything required. However, I can get this Huanyng kit locally for pretty much HALF the cost at $701USD.

Im assuming this one will require a bit more work to get it going, but I don’t mind soldering wires and so forth if I can get proper instructions. Even better if I can just buy the wiring made up somewhere else! So, does anyone have some thoughts on this particular point?

1. Would I need to upgrade the standard z-slider on my Journeyman to the z-20 to accommodate this spindle?

I would appreciate any feedback or suggestions if you have any experience going down this path! Thanks in advance!

Josh

I purchased the PwnCNC air cooled 1.5Kw 80mm kit a few months ago and have been very happy with it.

I just didn’t want to deal with running the coolant lines and dealing with that extra component. However, after a few months of running it, I believe I would choose a water cooled version if I ever have to replace mine in the future. I think they are even more quiet and as you said should eliminate any ingestion of dust.