Router vs Spindle

I am new to cnc routers, I was curious if anyone is planning to use a spindle over the makita router? Also is the life expectancy of a spindle better or worse then the router?

1 Like

Please yes, contribute to this thread. The Beta Testers appear to be using a water-cooled spindle. Is this quieter, or more powerful? My trim router is very noisy, but maybe the process is what it is and I need to consider an enclosure. Can someone comment on transit speeds of various spindles/routers, and perhaps the desirability of rotational speed control?

2 Likes

I believe Myers Woodshop did a video about installing a water cooled spindle on his Onefinity. The operating sound of the spindle vs. the router is extremely quiet. It is also able to be run at a lower RPM. HOWEVER, he did say it is a very complicated and expensive setup that 99% of us will not likely really need. The router should be able to handle everything we’re going to throw at it. I would assume that those looking into or actually needing a spindle would be using industrial machines.

3 Likes

I wonder if the spindle was the hard part or the drive. Hoping the drive is tge hard part, I have installed one or two of those. Time to dig through Myers woodshed aga6.

Interesting. I’ve always felt the router was the limiting factor for many operations on my X-Carve. But maybe it was just the belts not being able to push through the high engagement operations not the router’s ability to chew through it? Anyway, I would be very interested in some quantitative results since I can’t kick the tires until November :confused:

1 Like

The spindle I am going to use is a 65 mm 1.5 Kw water cooled. It will run about $400.00 with control box, tubing and pump.

For what I’ve seen/read so far, it does seem a worthy consideration. The DeWalt/Makita routers don’t seem to lack power per se for many, if not most hobby / start-up operations.