3D printing advice please

It will be a while before I take delivery of my 1F Journeyman, my order # is 22149. In the meantime I am absorbing all I can related to this machine. I see that quite a few folks use a 3D printer to make accessories for their routers. I’ve been doing 3D modeling for a few decades so I’m good with that part.

Where I don’t have experience is with 3D printing and printers. I have an opportunity to buy a second hand Creality 3 pro. Is this printer suitable to produce usable parts for this router? What is the preferred filament material for these accessory parts?

Any advice in getting started with 3D printing would be much appreciated. I ran a Shopbot 4x8 router for a long time and made accessory parts for it mostly out of Sintra (expanded PVC) and Starboard (HDPE). With so many parts files available to download I figure it’s time I look into this.

Thanks, Butch

I’ve been using PLA with no troubles for everything I have printed for the machine.

I’ve enjoyed using PETG. It sticks well to the bed and has good layer adhesion. Nylon is very tricky (moisture issues and bed adhesion), and ABS needs some practice.

I have a Prusa MK3S: simple to use out of the box. Sorry, but no experience with Creality.

2 Likes

Using PLA+ on a V4 Artillery Sidewinder X1 for all my 1F parts/mods with success. Learning the importance and impact of changes to layers, infill, etc… in Cura has helped.

I would recommend PETG. You get a strength similar to ABS without many of its drawbacks. And it is stronger and has higher heat resistance than PLA.