6 pack Universal CNC Controller

When/if I outgrow the Buildbotics controller I may choose to use Bart Dring’s Universal Controller.

I’m not an expert in this field but I see mention of StallGuard support. I’m hoping this would allow a controller upgrade without having to add limit switches.

1 Like

Interesting. Looks like the “StallGuard” isn’t recommended for high-precision, but this is pretty cheap for a 5+ axis controller.

I think I would look into using an opto over a mechincal switch. If you’re using something like the Suck It dust boot there shouldnt be any problems. Even if there is a simple blowing off of the opto before homing would solve it. It’s not like the 1F needs to be homed all the time. With no moving parts they last a very long time.

If you want to be really robust, you can always use hall effect sensors. No worries about dust (at least until the machine itself can’t move :slight_smile:).

https://www.smcusa.com/products/sensors-switches/Auto-Switches/Reed-and-Solid-State~127570

1 Like

I just thought I’d follow up and see if anyone has integrated this controller with the 1F? I use one of Bart’s other boards for my homemade CNC and it has worked out great. The amount of work and active development that is going into FluidNC software is amazing. (I use the precursor: Grbl_ESP32).

I love the design of the 1F, but every time I go to order one, I see a post by someone that a problem with the controller and I hesitate. And maybe I’m only seeing the problems and not the 10000+ others where nothing has gone wrong.

Thanks in advance.

That is a likely scenario considering how many have been sold vs the number of reported issues (that were not user error) you see here.