Circle cutting with Vcarve Pro

I am not sure where to post this comment also this is my first time writing to the forum and a first time user of the OF, I am trying to use v carve pro to create an 8" dia . circle with one 1/4" hole in the center. I am using a .25" upcut bit. When I go and create the tool path (using the Profile command) it gives an Error for Tool Path and will not let me save the file.
Hope I can find an answer.
S.Strong

Welcome , I am not an expert with Vcarve Pro , but what may be the problem is if you try to make a1/4 hole with a 1/4 bit it will not work use a smaller bit or make the hole a bit bigger

I was trying not to have a bit change in creating the circle, I was using the Drill command and thought this would work with the 1/4" bit.

It is considered bad practice to drill holes with an endmill as they have a flat bottom which are not recommended for drilling. I would pocket the centre hole with a 1/8" endmill and then use a contour toolpath for the outer diameter.

1 Like

Thank you so much for your suggestion, I am new to this cnc stuff, I think I solved the problem by using the Drill command but not with a drill bit, I set it up with the same 1/4” end mill so that makes my program have two different tool but in reality there is only one tool. Hope this makes since. After doing this I was able to save the tool paths and create the G code.

Thanks Again for your help
Steve

Thanks Dave for your information about not using the same tool for both holes. My problem is that I have a lot of these circles to create (8" dia) and (7" dia) and a tool change would be very hard and time consuming. The material I am using is 1/2" Baltic Birch Plywood and being very new to cnc I am not sure about using the 1/8" end mill.

Thanks Again for the great Advice.
Steve