Feeds and Speeds. Realistic expectations for the Onefinity

Hi,
I’m new to CNC and the Onefinity. I’ve done some reading here and elsewhere online about feeds and speeds and getting myself up to speed. I’m wondering how hard i can push the Onefinity and what it may be able to handle. I will be using it primarily to cut guitar bodies (basswood, alder, mahogany…etc).

Just for an example…Say i’m using a 1/4’’ 2 flute bit, makita router set on 2 or 2 1/2 (12000, 14000 rpm). Per the calculations, assuming i’m shooting for a .009-.011 chip load (which is somwhere around what i’ve seen for recommended chip load) that puts me somewhere between 216-308 ipm for feed rate, depth of cut at .25 per pass (1x bit diameter) and plunge rate around 100-150.

Assuming my calculations are correct and the target chipload is correct, this seem aggressive.
Before running at test (and potentially breaking something) I’m wondering if the Onefinity will be able to handle this or if i should consider backing off. I was thinking to start scaling this back and if all goes well incrementally push it a little harder. Ex…maybe start with 100 ipm feedrate, somewhere between 25-50 for plunge rate, .125 doc (1/2 bit diameter) and keeping the router somewhere between 12000 and 14000 rpm.

Anyway, I’m not going to be doing mass production or anything so i’m okay if i need to run things on the slower side, but just wondering from those that have experience with the Onefinity what i can realistically expect.

Thanks.

1 Like

In general, I think you will find that the OF is not the limiting factor. The ball screws, the couplings to the stepper motors, and the stepper motors themselves are the only components of the OF itself that are subject to the forces generated by feeds and speeds. None of those are going to fail before you either 1) snap a bit, 2) bog down the spindle/router or 3) have a hold-down failure on your wasteboard.