Final part dimensions out of tolerance

I’ve been using the OF for a few months now but I’m now seeing that when I call for a certain size, I’m always off by a fraction. I designed a small tray in F360, 95x65mm outside with 3mm wall thickness, machined today with expensive tooling, multiple toolpaths, no stock to leave etc etc and I’m oversize on the outer dims but nearly 0.2mm and under on the inside by a similar amount.

See photos for full info.

Is anyone else experiencing the same? Or am I doing something wrong?
Regards
Andrew

Most people need to calibrate their machine to be accurate. The Onefinity is very precise, but isn’t often perfectly accurate out of the box. Search the forum for adjusting the motor motion settings.

1 Like

I often find that when milling Aluminum you really have to go slow, or the bit deflects slightly and tolerances suffer. It is not really a machine issue vs a bit issue… with that said while the OF can clearly carve and cut aluminum it is not going to compete with $50K+ metal CNC’s when doing harder materials.

-Alex

2 Likes

I tested my machine for accuracy and I had to adjust a fraction of a mm in my travel per revolution setting. Stock was 10mm and I think my one axis I had to adjust it to like 10.09 or something like that. There is a thread in here and one of the members wrote up an excellent method for testing each axis.

Yeah Im generally keeping with in 0.002"-0.001" (0.05mm-0.02mm).

Also you didn’t mention it above so Ill ask, are you finishing your walls with a contour and spring pass? Or just running and adaptive strategy?

2 Likes

In addition to the above, also check out the dimensions of your bit. Just because it says it’s a qtr inch doesn’t mean it is. Also, if you set the X/Y you may touch inside a flute vs on the solid part of the bit and be fractionally off.

1 Like
5 Likes

Hey Andrew,

may I ask, are you milling this with the makita trim router?

1 Like

Hi all, to clear up a few points.