Gcode from Carbide C on MacBook to USB

Hi guys! I’m new here and its my first time to get my hands on a CNC. Ive been doing things using hand power tools in the past and I just got my OF yesterday. I created files from Carbide C and saved the Gcode on Basic Gcode PP but I can’t seem to save the Gcode in a USB in proper format, mine is always just saving on Unix Executable format and OF Proc cannot read it. Any idea on what can I do? I’m running CC Build 514 Free Ed. On Mac OS High Sierra atm. Do I need to shift to Vectric Pro and MS?

Appreciate any help. Thanks!

Hi Ricky … Format your USB drive in FAT32 format then copy gcode to USB … you should be good to go.

When you setup Carbide Create use the GRBL post processor to save your gcode.

hi Dave thanks for the info, but I have it formatted already to FAT 32 and even reformatted it multi times also tried ExFaT but to no avail it still transfering as Unix exe file instead of regular text format. I can view the code on d Mac just fine but when I transfer to USB it changes format :frowning: I did the PP in Basic, grbl and shapepoko its same result

Ricky … does the file have a .nc extension after the filename. Also change the filename to something simple such as sample, it could possibly be that the way you have named the file the controller is seeing as a Unix file.

Try it and let me know how you get on. btw: Update your Carbide Create to the latest version which I believe is currently Build 520.

Hi Dave… theres no .nc extension. I have tried shortening the name but still wont save. I have reformatted my USB to Mac OS and managed saved my file on the USB on textedit.app. I will try it on the PP today when I get to my shop. Keep you posted. Thank you.

Carbide Create saves it’s native files as .c2d format. But the gcode file (grbl) should have a .nc file extension.