Has anyone here upgraded from a PRO version? Thoughts?

I am in the market for a CNC and I’m considering both the PRO Foreman and the ELITE Foreman.
I’ve read about both but from active users, I’m curious if anyone here has personal experiences maybe even with both versions to help me along my journey? I’m leaning towards the ELITE considering the current promo, but I’d love to be more informed by actual current ELITE operators.

I have had a ShopBot Buddy for many years until my shop got horribly flooded so I have a pretty good grasp on how to operate a CNC and will be looking to use this as a form of income.

Aaron

Hey Aaron,

I have no personal experience with the Elite/Masso Controller, but I followed the MASSO setup Tom @TMToronto described in the last years in this forum (before Elite/MASSO came up), then I followed the experience of the users who bought and set up the new Elite/MASSO machines, and have read major parts of the MASSO Documentation.

It is like day and night. Constant rehoming, software freezing up, failed cuts caused by lack of computing power, all is a thing of the past.

I have not had any software issues on the Masso yet, no freezing, loss of work home or any other bug.

I rarely have to home, the machine homing is so reliable and repeatable. The tool changes become just a short disruption instead of a task you want to avoid. Especially if you add a tool setter, the machine will jog to the tool change position, then you change the tool, press one button and walk away. No more splitting toolpath into different files, upload, home Z.

There is so much potential to make a mistake when changing tools on the buildbotics and screwing up the cut.

I have a working rotary, I don’t even have to home that, the coordinates are saved in my G59 coordinate system.

I can install automatic tool changer if I like.

I just don’t want to look back. Best upgrade. I would not ever buy the Pro again after the elite experience.