Mounting on table

My plan was i was going to setup in my basement for winter and my attached garage summer. So i do plan on using the fact this machine can disassemble/ reassemble easy. my tables are MDF and i know mdf dont like being screwed in over and over. Is it a good idea for me to place threaded inserts into the mdf for the onefinity to be screwed in and out of ?

I’m no MDF expert but I’m going to use 3\4 inch plywood and I’m going to use T nuts or bolts with washers and nuts. I dont think any wood product works well after a time or two of being screwed and un screwed :grin::+1:

@St0mp - yes, you definitely don’t want to reuse holes in MDF. You might get 2 maybe 3 uses before the holes will strip (sometimes they strip the first time - ask me how I know :/). Even plywood will strip over time, but it is a lot more resilient than MDF in that regard. You will need to get different bolts - the screws provided with the machine are specifically designed as self-tapping wood screws. An M5 bolt with a washer should work, but I would need to measure the hole to validate.

-Tom

If doing a torsion box add wood blocking in the corners to accept the screws.

Whether it’s plywood or mdf if you plan on bolting/unbolting a lot I would have some metal plates with a welded nut made and embed those under the plywood. Inserts nuts in plywood will only last a few times before they loosen up.

I hope i can explain this right. asking for thoughts on this idea to fix my issue. 3/4 in. MDF or typical ply 8x48 inch’s 2 pc. screw onefinity into along y axis. use the overhanging MDF/ply to use to clamp onto table? would this work? plan on using about 8 clamps 2 per corner. then i should be able to move around with out digging into a table each time?

@St0mp - given the weight of the MDF and machine, there probably isn’t a lot of need to clamp the baseboard down. But, I am having a little difficultly visualizing your setup.

-Tom