My to do list: Buy a CNC

Hello everyone! I am new here and new to 1F but I think over the last few days I’ve watched every YouTube video and read every forum post about this machine and I dig it.

I’m going to ask you guys and gals to play Devil’s advocate for a minute and try to convince me not to buy a 1F Woodworker. Yes, you read that right, I am 99% sure that my money is going to Onefinity in the next month, but I would like to hear all your complaints, any and all reasons why I should take my money elsewhere. Air the dirty laundry, so to speak. I think it can be a good mental excercise to step back and examine things from another angle sometimes. I’m already basically fangirl-ing over this thing and I haven’t even bought it yet :rofl: Please temper my excitement before I have an aneurysm!

I am an engineer by trade with a decent amount of CNC experience so I am very intrigued by the stability and drive mechanism in the 1F at it’s price point. I do have some concern about controller longevity since it is based on the RPi, but I’ve been running my own RPi doing home automation stuff for a couple of years with no issues, so maybe that concern is unfounded.

Looking forward to the conversation!

Well, you’re intrigued for all the right reasons! It’s all that and more. My Machinist model is half the size as the woodworker, but uses all the same hardware. WOW, what a stout machine. Some might say overengineered. If it is, it’s in all the right places.

I can’t pass judgement on the controller, only to say that I built my own.

Oh… I was supposed to change your mind. Sorry, that ship has sailed! :laughing:

2 Likes

I don’t have mine yet, but I’ve also done a lot of research and it will be a hard “unsell”

• With the OF you’ll only get about 1/2 hour of assembly enjoyment where some others you can assemble for hour after hour after hour

• If you go with another make, you may have the enjoyment down the road of buying another CNC as that one may not meet your needs.