Newbie Questions about Elite Journeyman and QWC

Newbie here with some questions. I’m sure all the answers to my questions are on the forum here and I just didn’t see them. I’m getting ready to buy my first CNC. No specific plans on what I’ll be making, maybe some signs, and little nick knacks to start. I’m looking at getting a 1F Elite Journeyman and had some questions that I’m hoping you guys could point me in the right direction:

1. I’m on the fence if I should get the QWC with rolling legs or make my own rolling cart. How stable and “easy to move” are the 1F carts? I want something that can roll but can also fold up to take up less floor space when not in use.

2. With the QCW Frame can you mount the Masso controller and VFD for the spindle?

3. Dust Collection: I have an OK dust collector and have Dust extractors. My hope is in the long term that I can be making something on the CNC and still using other tools that use dust collection (Table Saw, Planer, etc.). Am I better off setting up the 1F to use a 4” dust collector or a 2-1/2” dust extractor?

4. As a newbie are there any must haves that you would recommend?

Thanks,
Doug

@DougSS

Welcome to Onefinity and to the Forum.

I can give you my opinions based on my experience with the QCW…your mileage may vary :slight_smile:

1. I have the QCW for the X-50 Woodworker (recently upgraded to the Elite model)
  2. I have a small shop (basement) and wanted the ability to move around as needed
  3. The QCW is very sturdy and I don’t have any problems with vibration or stability
  4. I attached a piece of plywood to span the legs on the left side (when facing the machine) positioned as to allow the folding up of the legs to still happen and I have attached my power box, VFD, power strip to the outside of that plywood as well as the touch probe, MASSO pendant, and hook for my two spindle wrenches on the inside near the front…works amazingly well