RapidChange Automatic tool changer working with X50

I finally got my OneFinity Journeyman X50 working with the RC-ATC tonight. I have the older OF with the black box controller, not the Elite Masso controller. Since this is more of a hobby than how I make my living these days I keep a pretty tight budget and a pneumatic ATC was just not even close to within my range. When I saw the RC-ATC I was really curious, but heard a bunch of negative sentiment (mostly from people that already had a pneumatic ATC or makers of them). Just looking at the numbers I could buy the RC-ATC and a bunch of replacement spindles and collet nuts if they would actually be negatively affected. It was worth the cost and effort. The owner/founder gave me a good deal on one since this would be an experiment not guaranteed to work and it could open up another community if I got it working.

Normally you hook it up to an input and an output to take advantage of opening the dust shield and then checking to ensure a tool has been engaged with the IR beam sensor. I am not able to use the IR beam sensor as the BB controller does not have a free input that I could use so the best I could do was use an output (Load2) to control the dust cover open/close. The dust cover stepper motors are controlled by a TB6600 stepper motor driver and an ATTiny85 which takes the output from Load2 set as hi-lo and sends the step pulses to the stepper motor.

I am running the 1.4.0 alpha 3 firmware, but I believe this should work with 1.3.X as it is using the Program_Start and Tool_Change code in the settings menu and not currently any macros.

The RC-ATC runs along the Y axis on the front right of the machine and I have a touch probe in front of that to check/set the tool length offset after the tool change. Happy to walk through the details of the project if anyone is interested.

Here is a video of the first tool change.

1 Like