Recipe for Creating V-Carve Inlays in Fusion 360

I was looking at YouTube videos that make v-carve inlays. They look pretty cool so I thought I would try to create one. Most of the time the YouTubers used Aspire. That’s too expensive for me. Since I’ve been using Fusion 360 free for a couple of years now it was my tool of choice. I quickly discovered that v-carve inlays are not so easy in Fusion. After failing to get a simulation that worked after several tries, I switched to Carbide Create, a free tool from Carbide3D. Turns out, with their Advanced V-Carve function the inlays are trivial to set up. I’ve since set up about 50 of them. It only takes me about a minute once I have artwork I like. But it bugged me that I couldn’t do the same in Fusion. So when questions started coming up about Fusion in this forum, I dug my heals in and figured it out. Here then is my recipe for creating v-carve inlays in Fusion 360. It works, at least in simulation. Note that a reasonable familiarity with Fusion 360 is a prerequisite for these instructions to make any sense.

My recipe is based on the 3:2:1 formula found in many examples on YouTube. More on that below.

Base Decisions, Variables and Assumptions

• These instructions assume the sketch containing inlay geometry (outline artwork) is coplanar with the surface to be cut. That’s not a requirement but if it’s not true then the Top Height values will need to change.
  • Choose the max depth of the inlay pocket (female part) = DEPTH
    • Typically, 0.3" or 3mm Yes, I know these are nowhere near the same. Apparently, Imperials cut deeper inlays and Metrics cut shallower inlays. :stuck_out_tongue:
  • Choose the engraving Bit (e.g., 60-degree V-Bit) based on inlay detail. The finer the details the narrower the v-bit needs to be to cut deep enough for the inlay to stick.
  • Calculate Stock to Leave (StL) value
    • StL, generic formula = tan(V-Bit/2) x DEPTH
    • StL, 15vbit = 0.132 x DEPTH
    • StL, 30vbit = 0.268 x DEPTH