Stops for Homing

Thanks to Bill Blades for simplifying this. I was going to make it super complicated with machined aluminum blocks this is wayyyyyy easier.

11 Likes

Hey Mike, thanks for the mention! Glad to see you got this done. Are the coupling nuts long enough to do the job? Almost looks as if the bearing is still bottoming out.

Hey Mike,

Can you toss that link to Amazon for the nuts? Great idea @Machinist

-Alex

1 Like

Thanks Alex! I know you specifically asked Mike, but here’s a link to the ones I used:

3 Likes

I’m new here so forgive me if this has been covered, but is there a reason you all decided you’d rather not let the bearing take the pressure? Is it just sort of a general principle about not touching that part if you can avoid it? I like to learn from people who know better than me and I have no experience in machining of any kind so if that’s a generally held belief I’ll incorporate that into my knowledge base.

Thank you both, just tossed them in my cart… appreciate it!

-Alex

It was my opinion that it would serve as a more repeatable stop, rather than stopping against the bearings which could potentially, after time, move. They are precision set from the factory, but I believe a solid stop is more appropriate.

Thank you. I appreciate the insight. I ordered a machine last week and appreciate you all taking the time to pass on information like this.

1 Like

another great idea from a great group

1 Like

I think it’s just the camera angle. There’s definitely a bit of a gap there. I used 20mm nuts and I think I measured the bearing stick out at 18.6mm. I do think I’ll add a couple of flat washers as well just to give a bit more room in case of dust buildup.

1 Like

Agreed and also I had issues with dust buildup causing machine to home out of square the stops should help to prevent this as well.

1 Like

Yeah, I figured that was probably the case. 20mm offsets it nicely & gives room so the bearing doesn’t home against dust/debris.

1 Like