Two-sided with Carveco Maker

Can you do two sided carving with Carveco Maker?

I see nothing for index holes or anything remotely familiar.

I have googled, went to Carveco, and YouTube and I must be using wrong terminology or something

Can some of you very smart people help?

I don’t use Carveco, but here’s what I do in a case like that.

0:0:0 in the center of the project.

2 or 4 holes in waste for screws or bolts equidistant from center.

Treat each side as a separate drawing but with same center and holes.

When you flip the board, as long as you screw it in the same holes, it’s centered.

Pony

1 Like

Thanks for the info….I’m new at this so I just asking.

So that we are clear Carveco Maker does not allow for double sided carving except as what you mentioned?

Thanks Again

I don’t know, as I don’t use Carveco. I use VCarve Pro, among a host of others.
I was giving an example of how I’d do it in a program not having double sided cutting. I’ve done it this way before.
You just have to make sure that when you flip the wood, it’s in the same spot.

Note that if you always use the center of the drawing as the 0:0:0, even down the road, you can come back and carve either side again (as long as you aren’t doing super fine detail).
Practice, practice, practice…
Pony

2 Likes

I had a look for this too and couldn’t find any specific feature in Carveco for it like you’d find in VCarve. As Pony says there are manual ways of doing it in Carveco. Looking at Vectric’s videos on their capability shows that there could be some real advantages to using VCarve products if you were to do a lot of 2 sided work.

1 Like